Central Area single-deck routes

October 1934 routes not renumbered


Nil Desperandum were one of the independents who opened route 202 in 1929 and were absorbed by London Transport in 1934.  Here Birch-bodied Leyland Lion GN7512 (later LN7) stands at Surrey Docks, carrying Old Kent Road garage plates but still in original livery.

Photo Paul Brophy collection



The previous page lists the routes renumbered on 3 Oct 34 into the new single-deck 2xx sequence. Originally, this series had been used for the routes of independent operators, although many of these had subsequently been absorbed by the General or (from July 1933) by the LPTB.  The single-deck routes already in the 2xx series at October 1934 were as follows:


Route number Operation  From To
202 Crew Rotherhithe New Road New Cross Clifton Rise
204 OMO   Enfield Town Gordon Hill Station
205 OMO Chingford Royal Forest Hotel Cuffley Station
206 OMO South Harrow Station Rayners Lane Station
207 OMO Barnes Railway Hotel Richmond Park Golf Course
209 Crew Forest Hill Waldram Road          Eltham Southend Crescent           
211 OMO Greenford Eastmead Avenue Ealing Haven Green
225 OMO Raynes Park Station Lower Morden Meadow Close
226 Crew Golders Green Station Cricklewood Broadway
230 Crew North Harrow Station Northwick Park Station 
231 Crew Hampstead Heath Harlesden Willesden Junction
235    OMO Cheam Station  Banstead Victoria Hotel



Back to Single-deck routes Introduction